The State of our Educational System: A Sample

I received this SMS yesterday, which I am really having a hard time deciphering. The subject, KC Concepcion, is a local celebrity in the Philippines.

— quote —

KC Concepcion. Maganda, mayaman, sikat, nag-aral sa France, anak ng sobrang sikat. Ayos na sana ang lahat ngunit sa commercial niya ng shampoo

My Mama always told me to look your best…Always.

Nice grammar: Always told

Cguro din she always ate, always slept, always smiled. Hahahaha!

Remember guys, always prayed. Hehe. :-)”

— unquote —

Translated in English:

“KC Concepcion. Beautiful, Wealthy, Famous, Studied in France, Daughter of a famous person. She has it made, but in her shampoo commercial, she says:

‘My Mama always told me to look your best…Always.

Nice grammar: ‘Always told’

So, she must also have always ate, always slept, always smiled. Hahahaha!

Remember guys, always prayed. Hehe. :-)”

I need all your help on this, and please leave a comment on this blog post, but I really can’t get the joke, although I think I got the geist of the SMS message.

My analysis: The writer of this chain SMS message obviously wanted to mock KC’s grammar. The problem is, although I have not validated whether this is her exact statement in the commercial, I find absolutely nothing wrong with it. The statement “look your best…Always”, presumably being her mom’s exact words.

Neither do I find anything wrong with “always ate, always slept, always smiled” nor “always told”, if used in the proper context, as is the case here. I mean, what did they expect her to say? “My Mama always tell me…”?!?

Of course, the statement “Guys, always prayed”, which was meant as a friendly reminder, really written to be sarcastic, is grammatically wrong. I do think that we have bastardized the English language, as an example of much more, in the way we muddle up the participles of certain phrases, like:

“Sir, please registered before you enter”, “Please parked your car properly”,”Waiter, I will charged this to my credit card”, “Please don’t honked your horn, this is a school”, worse, “Students, please raised your hand if you have any question”. OMG!

I have always been skeptical of mainstream educational system in general, which is why me and my wife homeschooled our eldest child for 2 years. I must say that the experience was wonderful, and the fruits made it worthwhile. By force of circumstance, all our kids now go to ‘regular’ schools, but I am still not convinced nor happy, especially with what I see these days, this SMS included.

And although I am a product of a combination of Jesuit, Dominican, State and Private educational systems, I have much to want in the way we educate our children.

To the dogs, I tell you…

puff.jpg

Your comments, please.

16 Responses

  1. […] post by Systems Around Us internet marketing Post a […]

  2. nothing’s wrong with that, you’re right, maybe whoever made that sms would like to mock KC or be sikat like KC. 🙂

  3. Perhpas you’d better check if the advert is accurate before jumping into conclusions. My 2 cents.

  4. If wrong, then I stand guilty. I could see myself saying, ” I always ate pizza while a working student because I was too tired to prepare a hot meal at home when coming home late from school.”

    Of course, just to be safe, especially on an ad copy, I probably would phrase it as, “I used to always eat pizza …”

    But then again, don’t quote me; I’m no English major … hehehe!

  5. […] The State of our Educational System: A Sample « Systems Around Us […]

  6. […] The State of our Educational System: A Sample « Systems Around Us […]

  7. I think that’s what makes me so sad about this SMS message. Nothing was wrong with what KC said, but the people who wrote AND forwarded this message actually thought that it was wrong! I guess you guys validated my initial reaction as being correct.

  8. Hi Noel,

    Thanks for dropping by! Yes, I should check the accuracy of the advert’s contents. But really, whether it is as it was said or not, it is but an indicator of the sorry state of our education. Imagine condoning the wrong and mocking the right…

    I actually do see these types of grammatical errors on a widespread basis.

  9. Hey Benj,

    There is nothing wrong with it and your not going cuckoo!

    ~ Geoff

  10. Hi Geoff,

    Thanks for dropping by, and thanks for the validation!

    Benj

  11. Bro,

    You are quite right: the grammar is incorrect when we transpose “always” before the verb. However, this was not the case in the commercial. This “joke” must have been written by a member of the grammar police, who enjoys nitpicking for lack of a better thing to do. In any case, I didn’t find it funny. As the Jesuits always say, if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it!

    Enjoy your weekend, my bro. Cheers!

    Bro JC

  12. Thanks for dropping by, Brother JC!

  13. It wasn’t wrong when Forrest Gump used it, it isn’t wrong now. Just a sad case of someone wanting to find something to bring down (crab-like) someone they wish they could be.

  14. This is in reply to KC’s alleged wrong grammar issue. First off, the texter who sent that message to mock KC is dumb and stupid enough to correct KC’s grammar. I bet that person went to school but was always asleep during English class. I can’t imagine how somebody can correct anybody without doing a research first. Hello! We are now in the cyber world and any question, anything that you want answer with is only at your fingertips. “Always told” is absolutely correct! Bobo talaga ng nag-comment na yon as in bobo and the dumbest in the whole wide world of dumbness! She used “always told” bcoz her Mom used to tell her that in the past, it’s like she’s telling a story. She should have used “always tell” if her Mom is STILL reminding her to look her best. Namintas pa tong bobong to, kokonti naman pala ang alam. I just hope that the owner of this blog/site will 4ward my reply to whoever sent you that text message.

  15. @kaye – Hehe, got really worked up over this post eh? I know how you feel, though, with all the grammatical errors around us. I swear, I did actually see a sticker on the rear end of a red AUV…”Remembered Jesus”. LOL.

  16. @P_C_Ocampo – Amen to that!

    Thanks for dropping by!

Leave a comment